The Renaissance Man

Dr. Johnnie Williams III BA, MS, DD

Make Me Better For Me

overcoming-challangeJust getting this sentence written is a start! I say this because I’ve had a real problem getting myself to publish what I write. I mean anything!! If I seem a little angry, and irritated, you’re right I am. I know the key to good writing is practice but, I let decisions about what to practice get in the way of actual practice. I started questioning everything about the process and got stuck just letting thoughts and ideas flow through my head and not committing myself to publish anything to written form. This is not a place a creative soul can stay in for a long time. The result was no posts published for all of 2013. I realized I was worried more about what others might think about my writing, be it the style , or the content, than the joy of just writing, and I just felt like it would serve no real purpose for anyone. I have embraced fully the realization that the writing, especially the practice, is a tool to be used to make me better for me. So it does serve a great purpose, if for no other reason than that. I’m not sure that’s coming through as clearly in writing as it is in my head, but that’s about as clear as I can get it for now.
I have to write and publish, plain and simple!! It’s something that the writer in me demands. I’m starting with one piece weekly, at least, just to warm up. After that it’s back to daily posts. Now you might be wondering why I’m making this public declaration of my intention. It’s because I published nothing for all of 2013 and still had decent traffic to the blog. The report suggested that I have a voice. Some of you can actually hear me and it’s a wonderful feeling to know that it has staying power. To know you can still be heard when you don’t say anything for a year is incredible! I want to thank everyone who has taken the time to read these posts. I will make them as informative, or entertaining as the muses see fit.

I am confident that 2014 will be a positive year, filled with all the best that life has to offer. Please stay tuned and feel free to comment. Peace, Love, and Blessings.

All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.

Anatole France

January 10, 2014 - Posted by | Updates | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

